Play.Fearless
Diceology Podcast
Last Week in Gaming: To play or to quit.
0:00
-13:26

Last Week in Gaming: To play or to quit.

The Whitehack dilemma, pt two.

Welcome to the 10 degrees morning version. It's cold outside baby! I’ve been running a Tuesday night WhiteHack game. In that last session, we go into the bottle city for the first time using a passage through a crypt. I used a zine by Bloodthorn press called Dungeons and Dilemmas to build out the crypt section. I've built Dungeons, plenty of Dungeons, plenty of crypts, and tombs before in the past. I wanted to do something a little bit different. All I knew was there were giants buried in the tomb and it was a tomb or crypt built by giants. But Dungeons and Dilemmas walks you through a few thinking exercises, some prompts, some lists. And you end up with a kind of a situation over time that lays out the status quo of that Location that you're building. I would use Dungeons and dilemmas again, going forward. It does a great job of adding character and giving you elements to riff off of.

We're about five sessions in our Whitehack series and it's time to have that talk…right? Do we continue playing another three, four sessions? Do we call it? Did we have enough? I would say sitting here right now. I feel like the folks I'm playing with and myself, we're bringing the experience, the magic, and not the game. We're all on the same page about the tone and the environment we're playing in and everybody's bringing their ‘A-game’. I don't think that Whitehack is responsible for that. I'll see what these folks say, but for me, I don't know that we couldn't have had this experience using something else.

Play.Fearless
The Whitehack Dilemmas
My Tuesday night Whitehack game is still pretty strong. We’ve lost a player to IRL events and made that player’s character an NPC. This NPC, Vahza the Justiciar, led the party into the bottled city through a crypt his order has access to. There is a path through the crypt that takes one from the real world into the bottled city. This was us TOTALLY rat…
Read more

Twilight: 2000 — Straight out of Kalisz Saturday mornings.

This is still my current favorite game. It's like old-school Saturday morning cartoons. I get that excitement when I wake up and hop online! We're 10 sessions in and we moved into the beginnings of base building. I've got a big post up on play fearless covering the lase session and sandbox gaming. Twilight 2000 has excellent tools for sandbox play. The generator tools made a big impact on our session. Our game is moved into a different space. Things have gotten a kind of serious, a little bit real, and the players more invested. The situation on the table has a real possibility of losing two characters.

Play.Fearless
Straight Outta Kalisz SitRep03: Ten of Spades.
Sometimes you make a bet on what your players will do next. And you lose that bet, often. In our tenth session, day fifteen after the fall of Kalisz I bet that the players would return to a site to see if those inhabitants were friendlies or hostiles. I went through Twilight: 2000’s site generator and prepped that site. Put some love into it as all GMs …
Read more

Legacy 2E, Life among the ruins

I believe we are four sessions into this series. A full table of four players, four families, the playbooks all over the place. But the game isn't bonkers or zany. That's always, my fear with Legacy is you've got so many different families across tones and genres without some conversation you could end up with something really bonkers. I think we're a session out from turning the first age. The big threat is a band of Future-time entities making a beachhead in the Lost City. The online virtual dice roller escalated a simple threat into something epic!

I'm building out my first Foundry VTT module, using legacy with the permission of the UFO Press folks. So my hope is to once I get it built and let those folks review it and then release it to everybody out there in the world.

On Twitch.tv/actualplay

We've roped Plus One Forward’s Rich Rogers into running Bounty of the Week on Thursday nights. It’s been fantastic. Our last bounty was to capture a bad Gungan. What's worse than a bad Gungan? Zombie Gungans!! Bounty of the Week is a hack based on Michael Sands Monster of the Week and skinned for Star Wars.

So also for Actual Play Judd Karlman of Daydreaming about Dragons, is running Godbound: The Northern death Pantheon. I'm playing the Castilian of tombs, a buzzard-headed God of death. I think we're all aspects of death. Death is the ‘word’ or power we all share for free. All the gods have been asleep for some time. I watched over them during this slumber and suddenly we've been awakened. That was our first session. And you can catch that on Twitch.tv/actualplay.

For the Emperor!

Max and I are returning to the revised version of Wrath and Glory by Cubicle 7. We're going to update his tech priest. He's got some ideas about the starting situation around investigating a skirmish involving humans with some Xeno tech. We will eventually end up visiting a space hulk.

That's my week in gaming. Tell me what you're playing, what you got on your table. How are you staying warm this winter?

Play Fearless!

0 Comments
Play.Fearless
Diceology Podcast
Conversations with other gamers about games and life.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mad Jay
Recent Episodes
  Mad Jay and Brendan Howard
  Mad Jay
  Mad Jay
  Mad Jay